Pranayama is the practice of breath regulation. It's a main component of yoga, an exercise for physical and mental wellness. In Sanskrit, “prana” means life energy and “yama” means control. The practice of pranayama involves breathing exercises and patterns.


Stages of Pranayama

There are three stages to Pranayama; the first being 'puraka' inhalation through the nostrils.  The second is 'rechaka' that is, exhalation. The third is 'kumbhaka' - holding the breath in or holding outside the body.

Some Examples of Pranayama

BHASTRIKA - Breath of Fire

KAPALABHATI -Skull Shining

UJJAYI - Victorious Breath